Note to New Members ×

Snowboard pants that won't Rip?

jtslalom

Is there such a thing? I have been riding for 21 years now and still haven't found a pair of snowboard and/or ski pants that won't rip, tear, or simply not wear through in the knee and hip area. I bought a pair of expensive spyder pants that I thought would hold up. I'm in my second full season with them and have duct taped both knees and one hip area because of wearing through. The few brands that I've had that I remember were columbia, Burton, WaveRave, Airwalk and now Spyder. None of which lasted more than 1 1/2 or 2 seasons. I have had other brands that I can't remeber the names of but still no success.

Avalanche makes most (all?) of the Canadian instructor uniforms. I'm not sure if they sell direct or not. They are very abundant (and cheap) on the local used sites.....$400 ish new for pants/jacket. They seem to wear extremely well ( I've had 1).

I'm sure some of the instructors on the site have worn Avalanche stuff too??

//Paul

its a commodity item.. I used to just go to whiskeymilitia (or similar) and buy a new pair every few years...

BUT,.,,,,

My nephew is a chemical engineer in the army and told me about the chemical camo suits called (jlist or something) they use...Said they would be great for snowboarding. Im sure they cost a few grand to uncle sam but you can buy a pants and jacket on ebay for about $100.00.No pockets though

I fould a pair on ebay... oh my.. these things are amazing. I only have a few runs in them so I cant begin to say how well they hold up. The water proofing is amazing. You just look like a idiot in full camo.

Carhartt

Yes.. they make work clothes, but have waterproof breathable bibs that are indistructable in your choice of black or black

I was sent some info on Thor motorcylce pants but have never tried them myself

Apparently they are also waterproof, breathable, and bombproof... very stylish as well