Note to New Members ×

I think I feel a change in the wind says I...

photodad2001

Hey, I'm new here. Just thought I'd say hello to everyone and give a little info on myself. I've been snowboarding since 1988 but just got serious into soul carving this year. Still trying to swap out my old twin style rides for some more sleaker alpine sticks.

Anyway, I'd have to say it's just a matter of time that companies like Sims, Kemper, and all the other companies that used to make alpine boards start producing again for 3 reasons. One, not just myself, but some of my "oldschool" buds have gone the way of the longer boards, and as time goes by there will be more and more snowboarders who aren't ready to glue their butts to a bar stool in the lodge just because we don't bounce like we used too. Two, there are more yong carvers out there who want to stand out from the hoards of wide-stanced, duck-footed masses. And three, trends tend to repeat in 10 year cycles. What was it about 1998 when local shops and makers stopped carrying race boards?

Well, don't want to get too long, but before I end there has been another change I've made over the last year. I finally got rid of the skateboard that had been unused for several years in the trunk of my car and replaced it with a windsurfer on the roof of my car instead. Any lake will due if you've got the right wind.

Hey Welcome to Bomber. I am a photographer too. Among other things like running a gallery and a retail store etc. What kind of photography do you do?

Here is a bit of mine as I redo my main site.

http://saddletreegallery.com/jerry_hadam.htm

There are a couple of other photogs on here too. And a couple of really talented "amateurs".

Sweet pic of you with your ? daughter standing between your bindings with a big old smile.

Wish you were right about alpine, but I think the manufacturers drive the market here not the consumers. Shouldn't be but it seems to be a little too niche for the big guys to play.