Note to New Members ×

Coiler Nose folding

Fleaman

I have never folded my Coiler I was just wondering if anyone has had the same experience. I was carving in the back seat today because of the slushy conditions but got caught a few times and the board pulled through.

Is it Bruce's almighty power guiding us or are we just lucky.

IMHO it's both...but Bruce's genius is that he designs a boards allow us to recover from our mistakes. I can't think of the number of times that I have ended up driving from the back on my RC and been able to recover. I more inclined to believe it's the board than my skills

I have no experience with Coilers (not yet :eplus2: ), but someone did post about folding their Coiler and part of the edge of the board separated from the rest of the board. It happened around the time when everyone was breaking their boards (Beginning-Middle of March).

Edit: found it

Folded Coiler

there's a picture in the middle of the thread. there you go, even the might coiler can be folded AND broken...

I have never folded my Coiler I was just wondering if anyone has had the same experience. I was carving in the back seat today because of the slushy conditions but got caught a few times and the board pulled through.

Is it Bruce's almighty power guiding us or are we just lucky.

I've yet to fold any of mine

You guys just aren't trying hard enough. ;) You can fold any board. I've done it twice on my stiff-ish RC. First time, I was riding way too aggressively and forward for the soft snow conditions. The second time, I hit a bank of soft snow just as I was initiating a turn. That time, I really stuffed it and damaged the board as I documented in another thread. The fact that it didn't snap but merely bent the metal edge is testament to the quality of Bruce's construction.

What about other mfg;s like Donek, do their boards fold easily?

I wonder if it is the wood selection.