Note to New Members ×

No words for it

Ernie00

This is what happen today at the college where I work / coach...

http://ca.news.yahoo.com/s/13092006/2/national-twelve-people-injured-montreal-shootings-recall-1989-massacre.html

I wasn't there, I decided to do my training elsewhere today for some reason then I was heading there for practice.

I'm just speechless about this.

Ernie

Hey Ernie, I'm really glad to see you're weren't hurt.

I just heard on the news, that the police have confirmed that one student has died.

I haven't been involved in any of the shootings that happened in Montreal, but I know people who have been involved in each of them.

In 1989 I was a student at Dawson College when the Universite de Montreal massacre happened. A girl I was working with during a summer job was at the university during the shooting. She was uninjured.

My brother was a student at Concordia during the Fabrikant shooting in 1992. He was also uninjured.

A former classmate of mine at Dawson and Concordia is currently teaching Electronics at Dawson. I don't know what's happened with him, since we lost contact with each other several years ago. I hope he's alright.

This has got to stop.

'later...

That is quite horrible. I heard it on the radio while at work today. These news always seem surrealist, just like September 11th. When I heard the news, it was like the Polytechnique and Fabrikant massacres all over again.

My sympathies to those involved and those who know people involved.

Not necessarely: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/School_shooting

It's just that it's the third in Montréal in 17 years...

Polytechnique 1989

Fabrikant (Concordia) 1992 (a teacher shot 4 colleagues)

Dawson 2006

I guess naming them all in one news article made it sound worse than it is.

yup, "wackos everywhere. plague and madness"

sad. hopefully your govt wont respond the way ours does, with more force for "prevention"