Note to New Members ×

Frustrated and disgusted

TrenchDigger

Hello Fellow Carvers,

This is my first time posting on this forum. To qualify myself to post here I am 34 years old and this is my 18th season snowboarding. I have well over 500 days under my belt as I lived in a resort town (Crested Butte, Co.) for 4 years and had a couple of season passes to some of Front Range mountains after that. I moved back to California in '95 and only get to go on the occasional trip or go to the local garbage mountains 10 or so times a year. I have been riding hard boots since '89 and I ride the freestyle board when there is POW.

Now for the rant.... I went on a trip last weekend to Mammoth brought both boards but only the softy boots. I was fully expecting to pick up a new pair of hard boots since my currnet pair has suffered some irrepairable damage to the liners. Mammoth is home of Wave Rave and some other notable retail shops but Wave Rave was my first choice. I have been there before and had good luck with them having a decent selection of Alpine gear. Not this year. I was reffered to about 7 or 8 different shops NONE of them carried carving/racing gear. I know I probably should have called first but I thought for sure someone would have had some hard boots for sale. They all looked at me like I was speaking a different language or something. I was forced to be on my softies all weekend which isn't the end of the world since I can carve on that just fine, even switch. I would have liked to carve some ruts for other tourists trip in though. I really can't believe that NO one even carries Alpine gear any more. Where do all their local racers get there gear?

Thanks for reading,

TrenchDigger

When was the last time you saw a full selection of hard boots for sale at a shop? The Bomber store is the only place I've ever been to that does. I would be super stoked if if the sport was popular enough for stores to stock gear, but it simply isn't.