Note to New Members ×

pic of hardboots in softboot bindings - does anyone do this

snow|3oarder

that looks like one of those rare koflach snowboard boots. correct me if im wrong. haven't seen boots like those in a -looong- time.

PS I have seen worst. an idiot tried to go snowboarding in ski boots. yes, using ski boots -WITH- soft boot bindings. sheesh. we all four of us were doing same run. and this guy of the four was struggling while three of us were doing laps 3 or 4 times with him still on his first lap. three of us did warn him it wouldn't simply work. he was just being stubborn. worst part is that he's being cheap despise the fact he is from well-off family and is well-off himself.

this was common back in the late 80's early 90's. When I moved to Colorado in 1988 i rode with asolo mountaineering boots in a highback binding. this was at Aspen highlands.The 1st resort I rode at when I moved to CO. I think I started riding plates the next season.People did this for the same reason as we ride hardboots today-more carving power. There is no reason to do this today as we have the proper equipment. I did this because I didn't know about plate bindings at the time. I'm not sure when plates were first available ? Maybe someone can tell us?I rode those same pink koflac boots on a Kemper apex asym with snopro plates for a while. Damian Sanders used to ride koflacs as well.