Note to New Members ×

Need tips for teaching an intermediate hardbooter

Biio-hazzard

I've been riding alpine boards for years but I've never gotten great at it. However, I have the unique opportunity to teach someone tomorrow. I had no warning that I'd get this assignment until 4pm today so I'm doing some homework tonight to make sure I have some value to share with my client for his 3-hour lesson tomorrow afternoon. If you guys wouldn't mind sharing a few tips that really helped you get over the "purgatory" intermediate stage, by all means, write me up some bullet points below. I imagine we'll be working a lot on stance and getting clean heelside turns without sticking our butts out all weird haha. If you could right down a few pointers, drills, analogies or concepts below before noon tomorrow 12/17 (Tuesday), that would the best Christmas gift this forum has ever given me! I'm a certified softboot instructor and I'm guessing my client has a background in both skiing and softboot snowboarding so maybe you can draw some comparisons to those for me. Thanks, Ian

Edited by Biio-hazzard

I am now sort of back at the intermediate level again thanks to riding a lot less than before, and also a lot less fit. From my old old racing days, I can sort of remember what I am supposed to do, but not quite able to do it consistently).

I'd say it will depend on the rider, but might include:

- ensure right stance in heelsides and toeside turns (this is like a foundation) on a non challenging non threatening slope - body positioning; hands, hips and shoulder alignment; degree of flex in the ankles and knees; amount of rotation in each turn (at this point probably better to go with encouraging some rotation Swiss style and eliminating the usual beginner issue of counter rotation)

- moving from beginner/intermediate steepness to slightly steeper slopes and maintaining technique and control to stay carving