Note to New Members ×

middle-aged hack seeks soft boot carver

motoyogi

I've been snowboarding off and on for 20 years, in there somewhere was a many years of surfing, waterskiing, windsurfing and an occasional skiing. I currently ride some used, generic everything board that encourages me to push snow around on any mountain though in my mind I am trying to carve constantly. I'm not into my board leaving the ground, sliding on rails, or flipping outta pipes.

I'd like a more carving oriented board because thats the sensation that I love, but I don't live on the mountain so I need a board with some versatility. A hard boot alpine set-up probably just doesn't make sense. I see Donek has a soft boot carving board, but if you throw in the plate, bindings and new boots we're in at about $2000.00 which seems steep.

my questions

are there soft boot carving boards for those of us not destined for race podiums?

are there special bindings for soft boots that accommodate such kinder gentler carving boards?

am I destined to spend 2000$ ?

Just sticking with Donek, an Incline or Razor is $600-$750. Add some Burton Cartel's for $225 and boots for another $250 and you're at $1225. You can certainly spend less (or more, of course) on new gear, not to mention all the used stuff out there.

There are a lot of good freeride boards out there that would fit the bill, but if you are looking at modern BX boards (long side cuts, variable camber profiles, and carbon/ titanal) then you are looking at race boards with the current top tech- same as the alpine race boards, but to a different end. As such, top end pricing is top end pricing.

I have a relatively ancient Incline that hasn't given up the ghost yet after MANY days of freeride/ freecarving and teaching. At some point I'll get another- they have a pretty stellar cost/ value ratio.