Note to New Members ×

ISO: Breck in Feb Layering Recommendations

SpceWrnglr

Traveling to Breckenridge for the first time in February. Looking for recommendations from locals or anyone with experience on Breck in February for recommendations on how many and what kinds of layers I should pack. This is my first time skiing and first time to the area. What are most people wearing? Any recommendations? Best advice I've gotten so far was "considerable" amounts of layers. But didn't press if that meant Hard Shell>Down Insulator>Fleece>Base Layer... or 2 fleeces.. or Shell>Insulator>Sweater>Fleece>Base layer... etc. Any advice and recommendations is appreciated. 

It’s a crap shoot. 
perfect example, years ago I was putting together window bucks in the foothills at 9000’ in the middle of winter on a south facing deck in a tee shirt and jeans. My compatriots on the north side of the house framing where in full coveralls huddling around a fire barrel shivering their collective asses off. 
That said, you can’t go wrong with multiple weight base layers, a good shell, and a down puffa. At Lovey, your vehicle is within a 10 minute walk, even if it’s in the far reaches of the lots. Get a locker, watch the weather forecast and have fun

mario

• Like 1

Hardshell + down + fleece + base layer would likely have you cooking unless perhaps, it was far below 0F.

So if you have that much you are ok.

Down as a mid-layer may be a "no" pending on whose opinion you read on a google search; I've gotten away with it in Colorado.

If you have all of the above layers, you are good to go.

• Like 1

Mario thanks for the advice! So thinking like multiple base layers on top of each other? Versus multiple mid layers, like a fleece and a down puffy. I'm coming from 16 years in the Florida Keys, gonna freeze my ass off. So the layering concept is all new to me. I've seen youtube vids with some simple 3 layer setups, and then some with two or 3 mid layers. 

5 minutes ago, Odd Job said: