Note to New Members ×

new here, never carved but interested

Guest Armon

Hey guys, real nice website here.. It's nice to see a snowboarding site with actual articles explaining things out. I'm somewhat new to snowboarding in general (19 y/o) and never really knew what carving was about. I've never really been into the parks and tricks that most kids my age are into. My roommate wakeboards for example, where all you do is work on tricks.

When it came time to buy a new board he told me not to get a directional incase I decided to do tricks and learn to ride switch. But to be honest, I just want to freeride. And after reading around here, I want to try carving too. I just got a Never Summer Premier.. not a carving board but at least a somewhat stiff directional, with somewhat stiff freeriding boots/bindings.

Will it be hard to learn how to carve with this equipment? I'm familiar with the g's and centrifugal force associated with tight turns from riding my motorcycle, and think it's a great feeling. I guess the hardest part will be waiting until winter to try it....

Anyway, bottom line here is good work on the website with the info, article, forum, etc. Keep up the good work and more and more people will notice

Armon

Armon, thanks for the kind words, glad you're enjoying the site. Stick around. Sounds like you found the Welcome Center? It won't be all that hard to learn how to carve after you've gotten confident simply turning your board consistently, smoothly, and at moderate speeds. At that point, you want to find a carving instructor, or if you can't, read the article on "The Norm" and try that. Heck, try that anyway.

In the mean time, here's a sick video to keep your stoke going over the summer:

http://www.swoard.com/films/2003/wmv/stoked1.wmv

This is a style-driven form of carving that these guys have named "extreme carving". Don't take it as a teaching aid, but it sure looks like fun.

Originally posted by Armon