Note to New Members ×

taper- how much is enough??

canuckcarver

what factors should i consider about taper when looking at a board?? and how important is it?. im asking cause im in the market for one, i wanted a volkl 178 but im gonna pay a $1000 by the time it gets here with shipping currency..etc.. so used or f2 cause they're local.

I'll be replacing a 178 proton that for the life of me i cant ride with getting pain in the lower part of my shin. my 163 volkl is a dream boat and its not an angle/binding thing possibly technique, but is very unresponsive, and heavy. i also noticed that it has no taper, which may be why im having trouble with initiation of turns.

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I have been riding for 17 years. During that time I have been on 5 different boards. Point being, its not a board problem. Unless you bought it at walmart and it has metal edges it will ride just fine. I find that this forum pushes people to blame gear way to quickly when maybe it is just putting more time in working on something that is not that easy to perfect.

No offense to anyone, but transitioning in between turns is all about body position and not the board. Keep what you have if that is the only problem. If you just want another board to play with buy it. But don't think the board doesn't transition well, or let anyone else tell you it is the board. It's lack of experience either with riding or the board your on.

Bruce talked me into 6 mm of taper to allow for release into the next turn, at least thats what he said. I (and my board that is done and tested) am waiting patiently for the topsheet to get thru customs (3+ weeks), once I get it I can share on how the taper helps. I had an old aggression 173 that was very hooky and put me in the woods a few times.

I would say 4-6mm of taper.