Note to New Members ×

Best way to enter?

geist

Hi, I'm new to the site and was referred here by a friend. I've been snowboarding for 5-6 years and want to get an alpine racing board for the upcoming season for racing on my high school team. I'm really trying to look for inexpensive options right now (I'll probably end up selling the equipment when I go to college). What I realized in the past was that trying to execute carves at high speeds was next to impossible on my "normal" board, a RIDE Agenda 161. It couldn't hold the edge when I needed it to (let alone even get into a nice edge after gaining some speed), and its lack of stability and "shakes" were very noticeable while racing at times. I feel like my equipment has been holding me back, because I actually managed to execute nice carves on this board throughout the season despite its "freestyle" designation, but only by fighting it VERY hard. Which leads me to wanting to upgrade.

I'm wondering if anyone would have any references to a good place to get used or cheap equipment, or any tips for a new alpine shopper. If anyone has any reviews of boards they've been using and enjoy, or opinions on various boards out there, that'd be very awesome as well.

On a side note, I've noticed that company Donek/G-Force make a board called the "Razor", built as an alpine racing board specifically made to be used with soft boots and bindings. This seemed like a great option for me as far as keeping costs down (I wouldn't necessarily have to buy all new stuff), but has anyone ridden this board or have anything to say on it?

Thanks in advance for your help :1luvu:

Hi Geist,

I too was looking into a carving setup. I was not sure if I wanted to get a whole hardboot setup , but opted to try out the Donek Razor. I got a 164 board, and went all out on the bindings( Catek FR2 Pro Limited and Burton Driver X). The Razor likes a stiff setup as you can transfer more power, and is more responsive.