Note to New Members ×

Tuning for ice?

trikerdad

I like 3 side / 1 base on the hard stuff. Not that we see a whole lot if ice at Bachelor, but I seek it out when it's there so I can test myself on it. Bachelor ice is usually of the scraped off, windblown variety, rather than frozen cord, and only found on a few runs that are both wind-exposed and groomed right after closing. No detune to speak of.

I run 1* edge and 1* base..... Keep them ultra sharp with a fine grade stone

I also detune my nose about 50mm... very slightly

and my tail about 20mm also very slightly...

The detuning is probably more psychological as it's hard to see with a naked eye......

I'm far from a pro carver....

For ice is your edges Have to be sharp!!!!!

I find that once you get your angles right touching them up with a stone keeps them sharp for ages.....

I do a .5 degree on the base and (get ready for this) 3 degrees from the nose to my front binding, 2.5 degrees between the bindings, and 3 degrees from my rear binding back. Very very slight detune (maybe like...1 pass with a mill) on the nose about 2cm right on the shoulder of the nose. No detune on the tail. Hooks up great on boilerplate. The only disadvantage is that the sharper your edges are, the more fragile the sharpness is. Kinda like a knife...the sharper it is, the easier it is to fold the edge or chip it. It's a tradeoff, but as long as you give due dilligence to your board, no problems should be had.

Comon, there has to be more opinions than that out there. What about deturning the tip and tail, good or bad for ice?

My Northeast ice tuning...

I detune tip and tail 1" starting at the contact points and moving inward. No problems hooking up at all - and for racing, it allows better recovery from late lines and other undesirable positions. I detune a half inch further on a race course with really soft snow