Note to New Members ×

Suggestions on a mild alpine board?

Guest Tybalt

Hello everyone -

I have been boarding for several years and am in the midst of my first full season, at Jackson Wyoming. I've been riding a Daniel Franck 157 for a few years, added a Palmer HoneyPro 158 this year for the crud, and am looking to take my groomer/corderouy riding to the next level. Both of my current boards are too small for me (5'11" / 145lbs), and I consider myself a very aggressive rider on groomers - I suspect 162-165cm to be a good fit for me.

The most important thing to me in looking for an alpine board is being able to wear soft boots and my Flow bindings. As a complete neophyte to the Alpine world, I would appreciate any input.

Thanks -

Kyle

If you want to use soft boots, chances are you don't want an alpine board but rather a very carve-worthy freeride board. My favorite all - around freeride boards are the Doneks (www.donek.com). The Incline, Wide, and Sasquatch are essentially different widths of the same board. They are incredibly stable and carve like a champ. I have the Wide 161 which is my "softie" board and I use an older Incline 168 as my rock board for early a late season - with both soft and hard boots.

There are a few other feeeride decks out there I'd like to try some day - a Rad Air Tanker 192 or 200 (for powder), and a Prior MFR are the two that come to mind. Actually, the specs on the Prior are quite similar to the Donek Wide, just a bit narrower, and I've heard similar reviews, that they are stable as hell and great carvers... they do cost a lot more though.

I also highly recommend getting a Donek. I'm 5'7", 130 LB and I ride a Donek Incline 160 with hard boots. Although the Incline is Donek's all mountain model, it carves a lot better than Burton's carving/race specific boards that I've ridden.

I also have Flow bindings, but only use them on my freestyle board.

GdBoyTyler