Note to New Members ×

Plates and Powder

Galen

After I started riding plates a couple seasons ago, I didn't think I'd be using my soft set-up for anything but powder. On my current trip to Bachelor for a week, did'nt think there would be any big dumps, so i left the Fish at home and just brought my Reto-lamm and Catek FR's. got up this morning with about 12" of fresh and was to lazy to swap my FR's from the boy's board, and put the TD2's on the Lamm. Sweet! I started with my usual 30/15 soft angle, but it felt wierd, so I switched em to 35/25. got small feet, so almost no overhang. Just loosened the top buckle on the boots, walk mode, everything felt so much better then the softies. Now I'm wondering what the heck I'm going to do with my FR's and Ions :lol: Hey, anyone know where in the States I can get my hands on a 162 Tanker? Anyways.....just spewing :D

I've been riding hardboots all over the mountains for about 10 years now and it is good, as you say. The one place its not great is the Half pipe, but you can still venture in.

Depending on what you want out of it, you can, run your plates on your freestyle board, or get a board that works a bit better in all conditions with plates. I used to ride hard boots on a Winterstick 159 all mountain board, and am currently on a softer Hot Shine 162 that I like for all around conditions/riding, or the Oxygen Proton SL boards are good too. There are other similar SL type boards that are a bit wider, a little softer and shorter (about the same length as your freestyle board). I also like the boardercross boards, which is similar to the Tanker , a rounded but chopped, maybe slightly narrower tail. My new (1 y/o) powder board is a Oxygen Super X 164 (i'm 5'8" 160-170#), nice and wide with great float. Lots of good BX boards out there to run plates on.