Note to New Members ×

Anyone Else teach (AASI)

Raisputin

Just wondering if anyone else teaches and is an AASI member? So far I have been instructing at my local mountain for 3 years and they want all of us snowboarders to join AASI and get all of our certifications. Not such a bad thing I guess, however it seems to me that AASI is <B>REALLY</B> freestyle oriented, almost to the exclusion of hardbooters (Maybe it is just my mountain?)

Perhaps I haven't been around teaching long enough to know squat, so I thought I would ask other people's opinions.

Merry Christmas

I teach at a highschool weekend program. Not AASI.

I applied at Park City and it seems I can't work at PCMR in hardboots as an instructor. I showed up to a hiring clinic the other day and was told it was a no-no from the man in charge. My feet haven't met a soft boot they like yet, so I had to walk. Kinda bummed, I'd been looking foward to the clinic since Sept. :rolleyes: I even showed up on a freeride board wearing my baggies to try and blend in. I have a friend that has worked there for a number of years, and it sounded like a cool gig. I'm not sure if the hardboot exclusion is AASI freestyle oriented, or a PCM thing. I seem to be teaching kids fine in hardboots at my other job. :biggthump

I should email Martin and see what his take is on it.

I dropped out of the program when they started changing the standards to include park and pipe and rails - stuff like that - as part of their ride teach at an expert level any terrain, any conditions.

I was an examiner, division clinician leader, two time representative to national congress and snowboard chair of our division for a while. I am just not interested in any of that. I continue to get lots of request private carve lessons and my riding on the mountain is the best sales tool I have.