Note to New Members ×

grease vs plastic

John K

For the engineers out there..... Oil can degrade plastic, does grease degrade plastic?

I use philwood hub grease on the internals of my intec heals and cables.... (they come with some brown grease in there) how is philwood hub grease with plastic? Is there a prefered grease?

Thanks

JK

For the engineers out there..... Oil can degrade plastic, does grease degrade plastic?

I use philwood hub grease on the internals of my intec heals and cables.... (they come with some brown grease in there) how is philwood hub grease with plastic? Is there a prefered grease?

Thanks

JK

Phil Wood is based on the same grease that is used in boat trailer hubs...so you should be fine. It's not usually the grease that causes problems it's the additives for instance white lithium grease would be BAD, the lithium will actually induce more wear than it prevents...

BTW I'm not an engineer nor do I play one on TV I'm just a part time bicycle mechanic and a full time (soon to be) periscope mechanic

Guest Randy S.
Any silicone-based lubricant will do the job, silicone actually keeps plastics alive...

I saw a hot chick today in Burlingame who was apparently trying to keep plastics alive! Long Live Silicone Valley (oh wait, this is silocon valley, silicone valley is supposed to be in So Cal). :lol:

Daneille,

Actually, Bomber Butter was made just for that reason, to lube up the Intec Heels and receiver. Afterwards, we found it worked great for other applications like the Lugs and fasteners on the TD2 and our Bishop telemark binding.

It is a low temperature, water proof-grease. Perfect for these applications and does not effect the plastic in the Intec heels.

for instance white lithium grease would be BAD, the lithium will actually induce more wear than it prevents...