Note to New Members ×

Burton bindings & lack of adequate lateral adjustment

kverho

So my Elevated Surfcraft Salmon with its 31.1 cm waist certainly should be wide enough for my Burton Step On X bindings & size 11 Ion boots, but the bulky heelcup and lack of lateral adjustment still cause some overhang at the heel and underhang at the toe. I've been trying to google aftermarket discs with more lateral adjustment to no avail, do they exist? Any other suggestions to the problem at hand? This is my first year with the board and not a huge issue; I've yet to experience conditions that cause boot-outs at the heel, but I'd still like to move the bindings closer to the toe.

20221109_120457 (1).jpg

20221109_120407 (1).jpg

I'm assuming you tried orienting the binding disk width-wise?
If yes, then your binding size might be too big.
I sized down the binding on purpose for my Burton Cartels due to this problem.
It's hard to do that with step-ons as the toe receiver needs to be aligned with the boot
Burton bindings are just...weird.

Other option is to find some Donek BX plates and then you have full customization of the lateral stance position.
Hard to find those though, as they are not made anymore.
Still, an ordinary riser plate will allow higher edge angles without needing to shift the binding.

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, VSR-Alex said:

I'm assuming you tried orienting the binding disk width-wise?
If yes, then your binding size might be too big.
I sized down the binding on purpose for my Burton Cartels due to this problem.
It's hard to do that with step-ons as the toe receiver needs to be aligned with the boot
Burton bindings are just...weird.

Other option is to find some Donek BX plates and then you have full customization of the lateral stance position.
Hard to find those though, as they are not made anymore.
Still, an ordinary riser plate will allow higher edge angles without needing to shift the binding.