Note to New Members ×

Do I sound like a carver? Debating on taking the plunge...(long)

Guest astan100

Guest astan100

Hey guys,

I just stumbled across this forum and it seems like the perfect place to help me figure out what kind of board is right for me based on my style.

I've been snowboarding for about 2 years now. I probably have about 24 days under my belt and I'm progressing very quickly in my own mind.

Recently, I've learned how to not wash out or slip my board and I've focused on carving. I've never really looked at websites until recently, but it looks like I'm mastering the basics of carving. I just want to make sure before I take the plunge and get an alpine board that my goals and what the board is designed for makes sense.

To start...my abilities. I think I'm pretty decent. I always chastise myself when I wash my board out and I think I'm developing sort of a french style of snowboarding where your body points downhill and your board carves back and forth below you. It took a few days to get this to a point where I didn't slip out the back, but I think I'm there now. I started pushing my bindings to steeper angles...from +16 +6 to like +25 +15 or so. I found that helps me carve because my feet are more parallel to the board .

In any case, doing some reading, I think that I've mastered what they call Cross-unders pretty well. I can go FAST down hills while carving. I'd like to think I keep a pretty good edge while on steep slopes and very few people are fast enough to pass me.