Note to New Members ×

Personal journey through StrongLifts 5x5

breeseomatic

I just finished my first week of Stronglifts from the very beginning.  My background is as an amateur competitive cyclist turned crossfitter, turned weightlifter.  I had plans in 2011 to train for competitive weightlifting, aiming for the 2017 Pan America Weightlifting competition in the Senior Division.  Vital stats at my prime in 2011 were 148lb body weight, 145lb snatch, 195 C&J, 295 deadlift and 215 squat.  These are respectable globo-gym numbers pound for pound, but nothing competitive.  I'm also 5'9" with long limbs and a short torso, so not even close to the correct proportions to lift anything heavy.

After a particularly traumatizing life event, I gave up on a lot of fitness based activities, took up smoking again, and started to drink a LOT more alcohol.  My fitness slowly declined up to a few years ago then I started mountain biking more and quit those bad habits.  I've been struggling with various weightlifting programs since then, getting on Takano's program, then ditching that because it was too much duration and too technically difficult for my current skill level, Waxman's programming but quit that for one reason or another.  I've had great success with Wendler 5-3-1 because it was super simple to follow, but also incredibly boring and it took a while to get in and out of the garage gym.  

I first heard of StrongLifts 5x5 through Corey in this thread:
2017-2018 season prep thread