Note to New Members ×

Ottawa Carving Sessions Jan-Feb

Ian M

Hi all,

Most of the locals here in Ottawa are already in on this, but I'll post this in case others are interested and haven't connected with us yet! I've offered to run a weekly carving session at Ski Vorlage every Tuesday night from January 15th to February 19th. Proposed start time is 6:30pm.

I'm a level 2 CASI instructor, with 21 years on carving gear and a passion for teaching :). The sessions will have some structure, but there will be opportunities to explore any questions that attendees have. We have the blessing of the hill to do this, and there is no cost other than your lift ticket.

If you're interested, please send me an email through the forum and I'll add you to the locals email list for all of the details and updates.

Cheers!

Ian :)

• 3 weeks later...

I want to echo Ryan's comments! A big thank0you to Ian who came out, shared his passion and insight with us despite both terrible conditions and his lingering cold.

Can't wait to see everyone next week - what a wicked group of people. Like I said; Ottawa is slowly become a small northern hub for carvers! :)

I am going to say it ... and Ian is going to shoot me down. But I have a board you can borrow; it is an Oxygen Proton and was my first board and JP's first board and neither of us did any harm to ourselves or the board.

I will bring it next Tuesday. I will confirm bindings - not sure I have some, but just in case, let me know if you are goofy or regular.

I'm 5'11" and about 175-180ish pounds. I ride regular. I can carve on softboots pretty well, but also still slide around, depending on how much sleep I got the night before and how aggressive the riders I'm with are. My board has some carbon in it, so I've gotta get aggressive with it.

^ Right, then I highly suggest you don't ride the Proton that Tabby is very kindly offering. It is a noodle and will not support your weight and skill level.