Note to New Members ×

Warm Boots and New Member Introduction

bruincounselor

Please help me figure out what boots to buy. Skip to the last paragraphs if the introduction is too long for you:

I’ve been snowboarding off and on for over 20 years. All that time on carving or carving related equipment. My first snowboard was a first year (white) M6 with a three strap Burton binding. I soon realized I needed more support if I was going to keep pushing my speeds. So I upped the ante my second season and got a pair of Megaflex boots –these are the old Burtons with three buckles and plate bindings. My second board was a HoogerAsym GS I got from a small shop. I rode the hell out of the board and eventually did the USASA series in the Midwest, winning a couple of GS races.

Since then I’ve moved all over the place and found less time for riding than I wanted too. Moving to the flattest place on earth hasn’t helped either. I’ve been running an older pair of Reactor boots when it’s warm enough and these funky Nitro/Clicker boots I got when I was working at a ski shop, I dig the Clickers and the boots are relatively stiff and they are WARM. The main reason I went to the clicker setup was that my feet get fricking cold in plastic boots. All my boots are at least 12 seasons old and while not exactly worn out, I know I am running on borrowed time and they will fail on me soon.

I have attached photos of some of the stuff I’ve been running for your pleasure. The ’97 FP167 is a favorite to ride, but it’s really stiff and has old school sidecut - it needs to go fast. I also have a few stiffer freeride boards and a slalom board with the Burton step-in plates on it – no problems with gates popping my bail open.

2012-07-12_22-56-12_927.jpg2012-07-12_22-55-23_708.jpg