Note to New Members ×

Metal failure stats

~tb

alright . . . Flame this thread to death, but i swear it is well intended.

I ride Catek OS2's with D3s. Many people have stated that this binding on metal boards without a protective plate is dangerous to the board. I have been riding them on my "gen 1" donek metal for 2 years now almost "trying to break it." The board has held up with no signs of wear or damage. (THIS DOES NOT MEAN YOU SHOULD DO THIS TO YOUR NEW DONEK METAL)

In preparing for the ECES (and all the boards I want to demo) I am trying to assess how concerned I should be about putting catek OS2's on a demo board. I have heard conjecture on this, but I am looking for FACTS.

So, I am interested in compiling some statistics. I would love to get every known broken metal board in the log, even if it isnt an interesting data point. IF you have broken a metal board, can you answer the following questions:

1) Do NOT share the board manufacturer. . . I have no intent in starting a flame war

2) Description of break (example: delaminated metal behind rear inserts)

2) If you know, what "generation" of metal board was it from the manufacturer (1st year, 2nd year. . . )

3) What bindings were you riding (complete description, brand, model, setup (example: Bomber TD2 step-ins with yellow e-rings and suspension kit)

4) Approximate number of days on the board

5) Were you using any form of protective plate

6) Now be honest. . . how did the break occur in 10 words or less, crash? Hard carve? Stuffed it in soft snow? Hit something? someone hit you?

7) picture? But only if it can be shot in a way that you can't tell the board manufacturer.

Im planning on making a "plex-plate" to take to ECES to run on all the demo boards. . . but still havent seen proof that the most recent Cateks are actually a problem compared to any other binding.