Note to New Members ×

Ripstik

John E

bur my son does it all the time.

Posted here some weeks ago asking if I should take it up as a trainer since the later models are beefier and rated for my 200+ lbs.

General consensus was that longboards (skate) more closely approximate the snowboard carving sensation, I think (?)

I wasn't necessarily looking for something to approximate alpine boarding - these things just looked like they might be fun under the right conditions.

I'm still learning alpine boarding but I rollerbladed for many years and really liked it. The interesting thing about a ripstik is being able to drive it forward by working the wheels against each other.

Looks like I can pick one up for $70 or so. Evidently they go through wheels very quickly (2 wheels -vs- 8 on rollerblades) but I have a whole bunch of old wheels that I could swap out if necessary.

Pumping can also be done on a slalom skate, or most longboards. (if not all, I'm sure Gecko will jump in and correct any inadequacies in my post :1luvu:)

Really, the Ripstick is a toy. It's fun for a little while, but at the end of the day, you're gonna be sick of not being able to kick or ollie, thereby necessitating picking it up and walking. (or ultimately throwing it in the garbage)

A slalom board isn't exactly the same as alpine, but it's just as fun!

Just my $.00001

Theo

The only skateboard I've ridden recently is a Loaded Vanguard, it could be pumped at surprisingly low speeds. I can get going on flat ground faster than I feel comfortable riding, which isn't saying much... ;) It took about an hour of trying things before the pumping motion really clicked, now I only push on uphills. At slow speeds I do more of a rotational thing, once you're beyond a brisk walking pace it becomes more of a 'pull with the front foot and push with the back foot' type of action.

Ripsticks look kind of fun too, but I'll stick with my Loaded board just because I already own it.