Note to New Members ×

Booster strap the right cure?

WRXRacer111

Hello, I don't post here much, but I've been riding plates for roughly 11 years now. I thought the issues might be intertwined to some degree so I thought I'd mention them together and see if there's one cure, or if I need to do different things to solve them separately

Haven't had any problems with shin bang, blisters etc. which is why I'm somewhat reluctant to try a bunch of different boots apart from the fact that there aren't any hardboot component dealers nearby.

Boots- Raichle 223

Boards- Sims Burner 168 split-tail + Burton Coil 173

Rider weight- 210lbs.

Leg shape- narrow ankle bone structure, thick calves

First problem- For high-speed high-power turns on the Burner, I feel like my heels are trying to lift up and out of the boots, particularly the rear. Changing the forward lean doesn't seem to effect this. If I tighten the lower buckles enough to keep my heel locked in to a comfortable degree, I find that it restricts blood circulation and my lower leg burns out faster.

Second problem- As I've gotten heavier and stronger with age, I prefer to tighten the top buckles up more to stiffen the boot. I'm strong enough to power out of bobbles if I need to. Again, with the buckles tighter it restricts blood circulation and I burn out faster.

I'd like to stiffen the flex of the boot because I seem to ride better that way, and tighten up the heel so I don't feel like I'm going to pull out of my boot without needing to cut off the circulation through my leg.

OR is it possible I'm pulling out of the heel because I'm "undersprung" on boot stiffness. IE if the boot didn't flex as much I *might* not pull out of the heel. Not sure on this theory, any thoughts?

Would something like a SkitMetrix Booster Strap help add stiffness so the boot supports me a little better without needing to clamp things down so tight I have no circulation?