Note to New Members ×

What floats best? Rad-Air Tanker 200 or 187?

Helvetico

I've been riding a 182 for three years now, and it's a great board, but it's just not wide enough off-piste. I have to lean back to keep from burying the nose. I'm 5' 11" and 180-185...190+ with my hydration pack, helmet, etc. on.

My feet are small, but here's the thing...what if I put my Catek Freerides on a wide board? Shouldn't the power plate transfer more than enough...what else, power?...to the 187?

The advice of anyone who's ridden both boards is especially valued.

Thanks.

If you really want loads of float, don't go for a tanker IMHO. I have a tanker 200 03/04 and ridden the newer 200s too. They're very nice allround boards and provide lots of float compared to most boards, however for entering turns with pressure on front foot just like on a raceboard.:nono:

I've only ridden the 200 (various seasons) so can't coment on the 187.

I'm probabely into buying a Powderequipment TypeB 190cm or 210cm next season as a supplement to the Tanker for big pow days when my tanker isn't enough anymore. Never had any board with so much float that wasn't a Swallowtail. Tried Dupraz and many other shapes, also many good pintails like Never Summer Summit which had very good float, but never had so much float and stability like on a Powderequipment Type B Custom. (They're manufactured at Jester - The first ever European snowboard builder - many should still know snowboard legend Werner Frueh who is still with Jester/Powderequipment). Also with 2.7-2.8kg at 190cm no other board comes even close in weight in this length. If you want loads of float, you'll need a powder specific board, not just a longboard.

Felix,