Note to New Members ×

Tuning Question, wax on, wax off.

Guest g1ngerrevolution

Guest g1ngerrevolution

This is my first year of self board maintenence.

My question is this;

As the weather warms up I'm thinking of switching to a warmer wax rather than the "normal" I've been using.

Should I try & remove the wax from the base using a base cleaner of some description, or should I just wax over the top of it?

How often should I be cleaning the base -- if at all?

You should wax on top of it. If you want to remove old wax then wax first layer of "warm" wax, scrape it and repeat the process.

Don't use base cleaner if you do not have any experience. Otherwise your board may need repair. Base cleaner dries out base permanently and that'a a damage. Unless you have total dirt from chemicals on the base that is not removable by waxing, do not experiment with base cleaner. Use safer method.

To be honest with you, I do not have that much patience to put multiple layers of wax, but this is the best way of waxing. However, I do mix waxes for different temperatures if I put that single layer.

From my experience, Toko low fluoro wax for warmer days works just fine in lower temperatures than those marked on the box. It makes board still fast and I prefer waxing with "warm" Toko wax even for colder days. For extremely cold days I change the wax.

You have to remember that waxing is a sort of art. Not only temperature is important, but also humidity and type of snow you will be riding on. There is several types of snow and conditions of snow (fresh, worn e.t.c.)

The best bet is to try how a particular wax works in the area you usually ride.

You'll probably get lots of answers, some from people who race, others from purely recreational riders.