Note to New Members ×

End of season @ Stratton:Skwals, Grooming, and touching the snow

tex1230

So I took the final weekend of the season up at Stratton to try a few new things. Przemek/Brooklyn offered to bring up a skwal for me to try - and to make a few runs with me as well. We met and went up on an ungroomed stratton morning,,,not a lot of fun for me on the Rossi 184. choppy, bumpy, icy crap. I felt like a total beginner...

I must now say that EC style carving may look cool on videos, but I have never seen it before in person. I don't care what anyone else says about touching snow being bad form, sliding your body being not true carving etc...

That boy can carve! he leaves deeper cleaner trenches on the snow than most "bobmber style" carvers I've seen..and he can do it on crap ungroomed ice that left me & my GS board chattering and skidding down the hill.

After embarassing myself on the steeps, I decided further self-abuse was in order, So I took out the skwal 165 for a run. for those of you who are curious what this is like, think a combination of early 90's narrow stances/high angles and slalom waterskiing. The biggest thing I found was that you really need to keep centered on this board. Just a bit of lean to one side or the other and you're immediately locked into a carve, and you'd better be committed to it, because skidding is not a viable option. I'm really looking forward to trying the 180 that Dr. D and I have acquired.

Sunday was much better, with colder temps and good grooming almost making up for the shortcomings of saturday. I think I redeemed myself with some good high speed carves on Upper standard. It's amazing the difference a grooming pass can make.