Note to New Members ×

Help: Slow learner (leaner?)

Ray(ottawa)

Does anyone have advice, tips or drills that will help a carver get his hips lower to the snow? As a former ski instructor, I understand about angulation, and on skiis I can leave twin tracks with the best of them, but on a snowboard where we are balanced on a single edge, the turn seems to be over before I get my hips low enough to the inside of the turn. My tracks look fairly good and precise without a lot of skidding, but I am really just riding the sidecut around, and I have to get the board to a higher edge angle and put more pressure on it to bend it into a tighter radius for better speed control. I’m thinking I would make real progress on a long slope with hero snow, but I’m stuck on short run areas with eastern groomed ice for snow. For what it’s worth, I’m 6’ 2”, 170 lbs., ride a 168cm Burton ultaprime, and my huge Susuka’s require me to ride 65/60 deg’s. This seems to be a psychology, confidence issue. Maybe I should write to Dr. Phil.

So - you told us what you need to do to improve, more angulation. If you could get someone to video your riding you could probably see what to change - all I can say is the same as skiing - pressure on the front of the boot cuffs, angulate early and load the nose. The UP is a pretty tight sidecut, so you may also be overriding the natural carving speed of the board. Try carving at a lower speed with more angulation. Good luck!

Go to a thread called Practice Drills and find the one about riding with a bamboo pole and keeping it level with the terrain that you are riding on, I think this will help you out some.

As Chris stated eailer you UP has a short turning radius which makes it harder to get really low because the turn is so short.