Note to New Members ×

Jack: Question on Rotation turn and push pull method

Guest needanswer

Guest needanswer

Hi All,

Just joined this forum recently even though I've read & re-read most of the articles on bomberonline. I'm a beginner and have never carved, but would like to start carving on my pretty stiff soft set-up (burton rulers boots and Sims FSR 750 151cm and burton cartel bindings, I'll try to ride w/ 40/38 angles, currently , I'm on 33/30) I'm 5'6"-5'7", 143lbs and ride at Tahoe.

I was wondering what you guys (particularly Jack) thinks of the rotation turn and push pull method endorsed in the extremecarving site; I have no interest in the laid turn; just want know if rotation and push pull are good techniques while carving on soft setup.

for the rotation turn , here's the quote from EC site.

Be sliding in basic position and, before theturn zone, rotate your whole body toward the direction you want to go to, moving a little bit on your front foot (trick: look at the direction of the center of the circle that shapes the turn, the body will follow the movement). During this step, the snowboard won't turn and go on straight!... The turn begins at the moment where you block the body rotation because, with the inertia, the board will begin the same rotation and thus turn.

basically it says , stay on uphill edge, turn body, when you switch edge, the board will follow on inertia. That's basically how I ride now, but I remember the articles on this forum says to keep a quiet upper body and initiate turns from feet up to hips.

1) Do I need to unlearn the rotation method?

for the push-pull carve , here's the quote from EC site.