Note to New Members ×

Any Tips for heelside turns?

snow|3oarder

Im new to alpine, but ive managed to hold my own the few times ive been out. I notice that Its harder for me to hook up the heel side edge properly. I try to minimize counter rotation as much as I can. It seems that the rear part of the heelside edge by my back leg is more prone to slipping. It doesnt seem like im bending at the waist, although I should look for that next time I board. Is there anything fundamental I should keep in mind?

BTW ive been running 60 front 55 back, because I have large boots and therefore no choice.

It's a common problem - I was plagued by it in my first year. (Search on "heelside" and you'll likely find a ton of tips). A few pointers:

- bend deep at the knees. More. You're still standing tall. more.

- Looking ahead (uphill) of my turns helped me quite a bit...if you find yourself skidding and you're looking downhill, across the board, you're not looking ahead.

- As you're transitioning from toe to heel, try to really stick your hip into the turn before the rest of your body, like bumping a car-door shut when holding bags in each arm.

So just keep repeating in your head as you make the transition to heel: "look ahead, hip first, look ahead, hip first"...

joe...

Check to see when you are initiating the turn. I discovered 1/2 way thru my first season that I began my turns late if you want to call it that. I was use to doing turns on a freestyle but the alpine board my heelside begins while I am moving perpendicular across the slope. When I can see my carve line from the lift. The transition point is perpendicular to the hill, where teh cresent moons meet each other. Prior to that, the transition were not perpendicular but at a slight angle down the slope. I found starting that turn early allowed it to get locked in and hold thru the turn.

I also drive the rear knee towards the heelside of the board and the front knee.