Note to New Members ×

Mammoth Mountain

Guest pcbowman

Guest pcbowman

I am new to this board and was wondering if there are any riders in Mammoth. I go up three times a month from Southern Cal. I can't find anyone in Mammoth to rent a board from to try alpine carving. I condiser myself an agressive freerider but would like to make the jump to alpine carving. I had a 166 Arbor A-frame and after riding on it 90+ times it is not stiff enough so I just bought a Palmer Crown LE and after reading this board I still don't think it is going to be stiff enough. Would anyone consier letting me ride one of their boards in Mammoth and teaching me a little bit. I have been riding for 15+ years and very proficient at riding the whole mountain. My daughter is on the ski team and my son competes in the unbound competitions and looking for a new challenge.

Thank you,

Peter

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Peter,

There are a handful of us here who ride up at Mammoth and June. I am there about three weekends a month, and hopefully more often this season.

You have a few options actually. Wave Rave does indeed have some alpine boards, way up in the back of their racks. They don't really even know what they are, but I think they rent them out for $20 a day. You will need to provide your own bindings and boots though, and probably help them find them up in the racks. I know they at least have a Burton UP 162 and FP 167, as well as a few in shorter lengths.

I know this is a ways out, but you will have a wide range of excellent boards to ride in April at the Sierra Nevada Expression Session that I am organizing (along with some help hopefully guys? :)). Donek has agreed to provide some demos, and Prior will hopefully come through as well. I have a feeling you will need your own boots and bindings for this event as well though, as I have not been able to secure any boot or binding demos yet.