Note to New Members ×

Skateboard carving question...

SWriverstone

I plan to check dedicated skateboarding forums as well, but I wanted the opinion of snow carvers who also carve asphalt...

I'm a newbie to skateboarding, and want to get into carving asphalt. I've noticed something asphalt carvers seem to strive for is squatting down low on the board and dragging their hand along the road.

I understand that a lower CG equals greater stability, etc. What I want to know is, can't you carve a skateboard without doing this? I mean, is this necessary to carve? Or is it just a stylistic thing, done for its "cool points," like EC carving?

Granted, I haven't tried getting low on a skateboard and dragging my hand...and who knows? I might like it! But right now, my interest is in doing deep carves from an angulated, standing position---just like on snow. Is this not possible on a skateboard without squatting? Or bolting plate bindings to the board? :)

Scott

If they're getting low and putting their hand on the road, they're probably trying to slide rather than carve. Or they're just trying to look cool. Most skaters don't approach this stuff with anywhere near the technical fervour that carvers do, although there are some that get techy. Next thing you know Gilmour's gonna jump on this thread and give you a head full of tech.

Originally posted by Neil Gendzwill

If they're getting low and putting their hand on the road, they're probably trying to slide rather than carve. Or they're just trying to look cool. Most skaters don't approach this stuff with anywhere near the technical fervour that carvers do, although there are some that get techy. Next thing you know Gilmour's gonna jump on this thread and give you a head full of tech.