Note to New Members ×

New to BOL, building a quiver

Mr. Colon

Hello BOL,

I am looking for a good starter set-up with bindings preferably. I've been riding for 10 years, and have taught lessons for two. I weigh 265, have size 10.5 foot and currently ride a Never Summer Premier 161. I plan to have pair of Head Stratos Pros as my boots. Can anyone hook a brother up, or at least give me some good advice?

Thanks for any help,

Mr. Colon

P.S. I have spent countless hours reading BOL Forums and can say that I have learned a lot and look forward to learning more.

You're in the right area to meet up with others and get some demos. I'd suggest that you get the boots ASAP, then get back on the board here and arrange to meet up with some of the local riders and demo some stuff. You'll need something that will work at your weight, and that limits the range of options a bit, but I'm sure there's people with stuff that you can try out. Good luck.

most smaller decks will be noodles and you will eventually break them

for me at my weight (255 or so) few boards I can make work that are under 170 just too damn soft

so I would suggest a cheapo deck to learn on then go bigger later

I certainly fit into what they call the Clydesdale class in the local races.

I think you may like the Factory Prime series or the slightly lighter Ultraprime (wider too).

I have also been quite happy with my Canyon 173 by Burton and the Frontier in a 185. They make smaller one and drsub on this forum has a nice 170 for under two hun.

These stiff freestyle boards are great as long as you shape your turns early and don't crank it too hard at the bottom.

I am definitely thinking you should be on something longer. I do have a 167 rossi throttle that is stiff as hell and holds nicely. I would probably need at least a $100 for it ???? Had not really thought about selling but it would be pretty good for what you are doing if you did not want to go long.