Note to New Members ×

Weightlifting aches and pains - any suggests for alternative exercises?

Dan

Hi folks, I know that some of you are into lifting in a pretty serious way, and I'm hoping to get some thoughts on specific exercises that I can do while taking a break from my current routine.

I've been doing pullups, chinups, dips and crunches for about 18 months, all with bodyweight only (using neither assistance nor added weight). I worked up to 2 x 10 pullups, 2 x 10 chinups, 4 x 10 dips, and usually do this 3 days / week. I added push-ups about 3 months ago, but haven't gotten very far with those, about 2 x 25, usually 3 days / week.

Anyway, I recently did a 3-day sea kayak trip, and noticed some minor elbow pain from paddling. Now I'm noticing the same pain after exercising. It's nothing serious now, but I'm assuming that it's my body telling me to take some time off. I ran through knee pain in college with permanent consequences, so I'm taking this kind of seriously.

I'm thinking I'll continue the crunches and pushups, but take a week or two off from the pullups, chinups and dips. Can anyone suggest alternatives to those exercises that I can do in the meantime? I have pretty limited access to equipment - a chinup bar, some small hand weights, and a crummy multi-exercise weight machine in our office that includes a lat pull-down is about it, so something I can do with little / no equipment would be optimal.

Also, any technique tips on what I'm doing now? I usually don't descend all the way to lock out when doing chinups, but I do come all the way down for pullups most of the time -- is that a problem? I'm pretty good about doing controlled lifts rather than flinging myself up with momentum, but it's definitely an area that I need to keep thinking about. Anything else I should keep in mind?