Note to New Members ×

Graduate School

scotts.Scheinman

So Im coming up on my junior year of my undergraduate and still pretty clueless as to what I want to do with my life. Since I have come to that realization I figured the best route would be to continue my education. After being nearly deprived from the mountains,(with snow) for 2 years, I want to go somewhere in Colorado/Utah or somewhere else. I was hoping you guys could give some advice as to those who went this route.

well given the economy, wth... continue school ...

my friend rob was a perpetual student... he was my TA in computer class when i was an undergrad.. he was in grad school... then he went to get his doctorate... and now he is teaching his subject matter. (neuroscience)

what is your undergrad major atm?

Depending on your major, it might make sense to work for a few years before going to grad school. It can help you get a better handle on what you want out of grad school, and might make you a stronger candidate for grad school too.

If all you want to do is take some time to figure out your next step, and do that somewhere near snow...I did <a href="http://www.jetprogramme.org/">JET</a> after college (studied Japanese, so it made sense), and got to live in Sapporo, which has fantastic access to snow -- 30 minutes on public transit to get to local hills, and some of the best areas in Hokkaido were only about 2 hours away.

Between my child bride (she's only 57), two daughters and myself, we've managed to accumulate eleven degrees. Not sure we needed all that and the student loans were particularly onerous for one of the kids. I had the advantage of the GI Bill.

Look at the job prospects in your field and make the determination. It would be a shame to be saddled with huge loans only to find the market still isn't very friendly.

Grad school immediately after college is just more college. You still don't really know why you're there.