Note to New Members ×

Curious questions from an occasional hard-booter

snovvman

I have been snowboarding for many years, having been a transplant from skiing for many, many years before that. When I first started snowboarding, I hated the soft boots and missed the hard ski boots. I eventually got used to the soft boots although I do everything possible to make my soft boots as stiff and supportive as possible.

My soft set up is K2 Clicker step-ins with modified soft boots to be very stiff. The bindings are the carbon fiber, and add very little weight to the board. The boots are relatively light as well. I stand about 45-50 degrees front and ~30 degrees rear. I ride a 4807, Amp, & Supermodel. The hard set up is Raichle 324 with Intec, and some Raichle step-in bindings.

I jump into the hard setup on groomers because I very much enjoy the "high" of flying through large sweeping turns and feeling the centrifugal force.

Background

With the Clicker set up, I basically stand directly on the board. I feel very connected to the board, have great leverage, and can move the board swiftly. The board feels very "controllable" through deep, bumps, trees, ice, and so on.

With the hard-boot setup, it's great to make sweeping gouges in the snow and lay down low, but I do not feel comfortable in anything but groomers. It feels like 1) The boots/bindings add more weight to the setup, and takes more enegry to move/change direction, 2) I am standing much higher from the board itself, and somehow affecting my leverage (as in body input to affect the direction of board) efficacy.

Curious questions

Is what I am experiencing typical, or do I simply need to get more used to hard boots on snowboard?