Note to New Members ×

Longboard equipment suggestions?

bhh1128

We're in a winter storm warning for tomorrow! Maybe we'll have a few more weekends of snow, but things are winding down. I'm planning ahead and hoping to come up with some way to replicate carving in the summer months.

Does anybody have pointers for getting into longboarding? Insect boards catch my attention, but I've heard Loaded boards capture the snowboarding feel a bit more. Is there any truth to this? For a beginning longboarder, does it matter much where I start?

Even the smallest piece of advice is appreciated. Thanks.

I'm a newbie that's only ridden 1 longboard, but I love my Loaded Vanguard. It feels a whole bunch like doing small-radius turns on my Donek FC1 when I'm pumping it down the street/sidewalk. It's wild to bend the deck and tighten up the turn radius just like a snowboard.

www.silverfishlongboarding.com/forum is a good forum with tons of stuff to read.

Thanks. I did get a bit of input on silverfish, and it sounds like the choice of equipment doesn't matter so much at first.

Although I am curious about trucks, as it sounds like they may be more important than the board in determining the overall feel. What do you have on your Vanguard?

Paid around $550 out the door.

sounds like a lot ..

Complete package with Randal 180 and Orangatang Orange 80a (for example, more choices listed) for 304.00 $ (+shipping) on their site. What explains the difference ? The wheels ? Deck just came out when you bought it ?

Anyone here rode a Dervish ? I'm also looking at Loaded like bhh1128, and hesitating between the two (close specs). If you're into "footwork" between carves, the Dervish looks awesome.

regards

SnowieQC