Note to New Members ×

Reversing toe block on Race Plates for small feet?

Galen

My 16 year old daughter is getting on HB's for the first time this week. For some reason I had it in my head that my race plates would be small enough. They are not. Smallest setting is just way too lose for my comfort factor. So, i reversed the toe block, flipped the bail around and this is what I got, nice and snug. I don't see anything that looks dangerous, but then I'm not the mechanical engineer type.:o Not ideal, I know, but don't want to dump any bucks into new bindings for her until she's sure she's truly interested in HBing. Any thoughts? She's 5'2", 120 lbs. or less

post-1371-141842251703_thumb.jpg

post-1371-141842251705_thumb.jpg

I'm not an engineer either but I've taken raceplates apart quite a few times and from what I remember the underside of the toeblock is basically "symmetrical", and by this I mean that there is sufficient aluminum in front of the bail in it's current configuration to hold up the the massive amount of stress that the 120 lb. rider will put on it. I think she'll be just fine. Now you just need a closet full of shotguns to keep all the aspiring young racers away from her, and you'll be set.:biggthump

later,

Dave R.

My 16 year old daughter is getting on HB's for the first time this week. For some reason I had it in my head that my race plates would be small enough. They are not. Smallest setting is just way too lose for my comfort factor. So, i reversed the toe block, flipped the bail around and this is what I got, nice and snug. I don't see anything that looks dangerous, but then I'm not the mechanical engineer type.:o Not ideal, I know, but don't want to dump any bucks into new bindings for her until she's sure she's truly interested in HBing. Any thoughts? She's 5'2", 120 lbs. or less

I have some very adjustable "rental" plates that I will swap you for the race plates. :)

I will even pick up the shipping both ways.