Note to New Members ×

Unweighting

John E

I'm a hardboot newbie. Still working on technique. I was riding with several people on Saturday at Winter Park / Mary Jane. I rode behind a young guy - Marshall on one run. I don't know how much his technique differs from others but I tried to mimic him and for about 3 turns, I felt like "I got it".

The best way I can describe what I think I saw him do is what used to be described in skiing is "unweighting". At the initiation of each turn, he appeared to dramatically "sink" toward his board. By pulling the board toward the body, your weight drops toward the board. As the board is put on edge, this causes the board to decamber, initiating the turn. Getting the board to decamber with say 1.5 G's works better than with 1 G.

I contrast, I have been trying to set the board on edge and wait for my own weight to decamber the board to initiate the turn. This takes longer and sometimes never really happens.

Watching Marshall, I noticed that the initiation of his turns was crisp and certain. His turns were relatively short-radiused.

Is this what most carvers do or am I way off-base?

When I tried to do this later, I was tired and the slopes were crowded and I couldn't repeat it.

I'm also wondering if it is a little like mountain biking. Its easier to make a difficult move if you see someone immediatly ahead of you do it.

Slalom vs. GS turns. One is a push/pull and the other is a weight down into the turn. I think there is an article in the Bomber articles on this subject. They call it different things but I'm sure it's what you want. You will see it under technical articles called "Cross Under, Cross Over, Cross Through."