Note to New Members ×

Bail entropy

lamby

Just a heads up - plate binding bails may fail after many days of use. If you purchase used bindings you may want to consider replacing the bails.

I’ve been snowboarding for 27 years and using plate bindings and hard boots for the last 25. I used to break bails after about 300 days of use. I don’t use them that long anymore. I replace the bails with new ones or purchase new bindings at that point.

I mark my bindings with purchase date or when I last changed out the bails to new. Doing that allows me to know how many seasons/days of use, I have on them. With that I know when its time to change out the bails or use new bindings.

My wife who is 110 lbs. (dripping wet) and who is not a “hard-carver” (I'm not either, any more👴). She rides over 100 days a year and has broke bails about three times. She no longer breaks bails, as I changes out her bails or get her on new bindings before they are too worn (she likes Carve Company Speed CC bindings).

Its my understanding that metal bails fail due to metal fatigue. This can be demonstrated by a simple experiment. Take a metal coat hanger and repeatedly bend it back and forth at the same point. As you do this, you'll notice the hanger changes behavior – at the location of the bending, it becomes stiffer and more brittle with each bend. This experiment is similar to the cyclic loading that snowboard bindings endure, causing microscopic structural changes within the metal over time.

When you repeatedly bend something like a coat hanger or a snowboard binding bail, it's as if the tiny atoms in the metal are aligning themselves, almost like soldiers standing shoulder to shoulder in a neat formation. This alignment makes the metal structure less random and less strong. Over time, this organized alignment makes the metal more vulnerable to breaking.

Best, lamby

IMG_2601.jpg

• Like 1