Note to New Members ×

Help choosing a new BX board!

andrion112

Hi all, I'm looking for some help in choosing a new BX board, and I'm tired of listening to shop guys try to sell me the stuff they happen to have in stock without answering my real questions.

I've been riding for 10+ years, got into BX 2-3 years ago, and I was using a NS Premier 159. It works, but I'm looking to get a dedicated board. A Kessler or Oxess is not really in the budget, so I'm looking at production boards like the Volkl Coal, Nidecker Legend, Palmer Crown, NS Raptor/Premier, etc.

First question, has anyone ridden these boards? Impressions of whether they are appropriate for BX? Any other boards I should look at? The last time I bought a board, rocker was a mad science experiment by mervin, but now its on every single production board out there. My instinct says avoid it for BX purposes. Any thoughts?

Next, I'm thinking of sizing up from 159 to 161-164. I'm 5'10, 150 lb. (177 cm, 68 kg). My understanding was that sizing up allowed you to go faster by distributing the same amount of weight over a greater surface area, thus reducing friction. This of course would have to be balanced against ability to initiate turns. Is my "old wives tale" correct? does anyone know the physics behind this?

Anyone of my size have any experience doing BX with a 162-163? FYI, my weight is at the very bottom of the range of manufacturer recommended weights for the boards I mentioned, hence my wariness of just diving in. Also, waist width is not an issue, i wear a 9.5.

Thanks in advance!

There have been a few limited production Nidecker NBX boards on Ebay for the last few months at decent prices.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-NIDECKER-NBX-Race-Boardercross-164cm-snowboard-/290526610388?pt=Snowboarding&hash=item43a4bc43d4

He has a 159 too.

There's also this Oxess, but the seller appears to be AWOL:

http://www.bomberonline.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=35796