Note to New Members ×

Okay to buy and use Catek's OS2 bail bindings with my Hooger Booger Grinder 158?

Da Hooger Booger

I was thinking of getting some proper bindings, i figure i might as well buy the OS2's because they're a pretty widely used binding, and many carvers on here swear by them. Also, i don't mean to sound like i got paid from Catek, but just as they say, the independent cant and lift adjustments sounds like the ultimate. I'm pretty new to carving, haven't even gotten into a stiff setup yet. That's why i bought a Hooger Booger Grinder, figured a 158 would be a good starter board. The existing Wombat's that came with it are circa, what, 1995 or so? They're probably strong enough to use with ski boots, but they seem a bit too flexy for my liking, i mean, carving strains your bindings quite a ton. I just want to know whether the Cateks will be too stiff for the HB 158?

1) good luck getting cateks - not sure how they stand right now, but they were having some slow delivery times last I heard.

2) great binding

3) What boots are you riding?

4) careful with that board - IIRC you have a retention plate, not an insert pack - those OS2s may rip right out if you push it too hard.

If you're going to spend money, First get good modern snowboard (or AT if you must) boots. Then board & bindings. you can get a decent setup in the classifieds here for a few hundred bucks. I don't know "wombat" bindings - but I would be cautious in using anything of that vintage for everyday use...

You are lightweight, right? No need for Cateks or Bombers, especially not with the ski boots. The only advantage you'd get from Cateks is that you'll be able to figure out your canting/lifting setup, then sell them and duplicate the stup on simpler and flexier binding.

I'm relativelly heavy and aggressive, ride heavilly modified ski boots and can't ride TD2s without suspension kit or TD3 elastomer. Cateks I wouldn't even touch.