Note to New Members ×

f2 Speedster RS WC 187

kieran

So i'm having fun on my 172cm '10 Silberpfeil, but want something longer, and while I'm quite interested in getting a board from one of the Colorado customs, the import taxes etc are a pain.

probably easier to take a holiday, pay in cash, and 'import' them on the return trip.

so, off i went to the F2 site for a brief look-see, and i happened across this.

except ... 187cm and a 26M sidecut radius? how much chutzpah do you need to get some wrinkle from its crinkle?

why don't you order one from one of the manufacturers within EU? There are quite a few.
I'm still quite new to hardbooting, really. I've seen more nerdy discussion about the designs and development from the US makers than EU ones. i guess that's part of it.

i only got the silberpfeil because it was a cracking deal.

Well, in case you're new to carving a 187 cm GS board might be difficult for you to handle. You'll feel that you're on a rail, going much faster then you wish and you'll find it quite difficult to push it into a decent turn, no matter how wide the slope is.

I would say the F2 Silberpfeil is a good carving board to start with, despite of the fact that it has some well known issues - stiff nose that has a tendency to dig in, and a soft mid part that will overbend if you really crank it.

I guess a good indicator would be for you to move on to a better board if you feel that you can overload the Silberpfeil, meaning you can push it harder then the board can handle. You'll know what I mean when it happens.

Coming back to custom boards, there are some EU manufacturers offering boards at a relatively lower price (I'd say comparable to an F2 WC) like http://www.apex-snowboards.com/ for example.

Cheers

I guess a good indicator would be for you to move on to a better board if you feel that you can overload the Silberpfeil, meaning you can push it harder then the board can handle. You'll know what I mean when it happens.