Note to New Members ×

Bicycling

jnshapiro

On a whim, I took my road cycle out for a ride this afternoon. I haven't been on it in 7 years or so. Last ride was a century (100 mi) on the Eastern Shore of MD.

Anyway, there's a paved trail that runs along side the American river. I rode down to the trail and then up for a while and back. Really pleasant outside. Ended up riding just shy of 12 miles. It didn't take long, about 40 minutes or so. But WOW! I'm way out of shape. I'm going to have to try to do this a couple times a week for some exersize before the snow gets here.

I'd forgotten how nicely that bicycle rides. It's real smooth and easy to keep at 16-17mph or so.

For any of you wrenchers out there (I was a bicycle mechanic in high school), the frame and fork set is Colnago Master Light. Components are Campy Chorus. Wheels are Rolf Vector. No, it's NOT for sale!

All in all, a very pleasant ride.

Guest vigilante76

That's a shame that work of art haven't seen pavement in 7 years! I do ride a lot... usually around 200-250km a week on a Colnago Active w/ Chorus on a Spinergy Stealth PBO wheel set. Ride on!

Glad to hear that you've picked the bike back up. There's actually a fairly good sized thread about cycling already over here: NEW cycling thread Just an effort to keep duplicate threads out...like what happened with the coyotes and silly laws threads :angryfire

If you're ever in New England and need somebody to ride (bike or snowboard) with drop me a line, I'll go out all year round.

________

BUY IOLITE VAPORIZER

Some pics from the trip. There was ~1" of snow in the meadow at Mt. Rose and on the trail down to about 8000ft.

Mt. Rose Meadows:

biglines_66371.jpg

Fat Chance on the trail:

biglines_66372.jpg

Further along, now on the Flume Trail. Looking back from whence I started. The aspens are on fire in the foreground and there's snow in them thar hills in the background.

biglines_66374.jpg

That's it, nothing else to see. Move along now.