Note to New Members ×

OT-Wakeboards that Carve?

No.2

Coming in to summer and wondering what to toe behind my boat. Single slalom ski or wakeboard? Any one tried both and can tell me which is closer to apline boards?

Also if wakeboarding are there any that are better carvers than others? What do I look for deep fins? Sharp edges?

I'm totally new to this so any advice would be helpfull. Had one go on a wake board and thought it was pritty close but never on a single ski.

yeah. . . slalom skiing is the closest you can come in my opinion. especially by a tournament ski boat. No wake. . . . nice glassy day is almost as good as perfect cord in the AM. maybe I will go skiing tomorrow morning.

ALL wakeboards you end up riding like a freestyle snowboard. there are some that carve better. I really like the Obrien Valhalla and Vice. They have a set of fins that are designed to bite when on edge that really remind me of something like a really really good freeride snowboard.

But bar-none. . . slalom waterskiing comes much much closer to carving. Get a good ski though. Double boot, right flex pattern. . . as aggressive as you are comfortable with.

-Todd

I concur on the water ski feeling most like carving. I have done both, wakeboard and slalom ski, the latter competitively in my earlier years. A ski feels so much like carving it is amazing, roll that thing on edge, ski starts to decelerate, hook the turn, dip the shoulder, snatch the rope into your hip and hold on. The G's accelerating thru the wake are on par with a carving board.

I use the wakeboard to get my fix on riding fakie and doing some handle pass 3's. I think the wakeboard gives me enough fix through the summer months that I never want to ride a freestyle board in the winter months.

Hey thanks guys! Todd those Obrien boards look awsome whats your pick Vice or Valhalla. They also look expensive. Are there any mainstream boards that could compare?