Note to New Members ×

mountain bike brakes

ak_rider

I have a question about disc brakes. I bought a supposed new bike on ebay from what seemed like a reputable seller(several thousand positive comments). It has disc brakes on the wheels but it has v-brake cables and levers. I'm not an expert on this but i dont see how these are compatible. The cables are already threaded through the front and rear discs, but not connected to the brake levers yet. Are these cables compatible or do i have to argue with this person to get some money back?

Also if they are mechanical, the cables and housing need to reach all the way to the hubs since that is where the caliper is mounted. By v-brake cable and housing I take that to mean that they only reach to the rim break mounts. If this is the case I would argue solely from the fact that you will need to buy longer cables and housing.

If you have hydrolic breaks and were given cables and housing you have a system that is not compatable at all. I would complain alot if that is the case.

Again, posting some pics would help answer your question though.

the cables are long enough, they're under a bolt on each caliper, but when i pull on the cable(as the brake lever would) the pads don't move. It's Juicy Five disc and caliper and shimano v-brake levers and cables. Sorry no pics, I don't have a digi camera. thanks for the help

It sound like he upgraded to discs and gave you all of the old parts too. Make sure all of the cables are in their respective slots/mounts/ferrules and adjust from there. otherwise find one of your buddies and bribe them with beer to fix it. happy trails, Art

Mechanicals are a pain in the ass to set up IMO. Contact the manufacurer for instructions and have some patience.