Note to New Members ×

How do you start racing?

mopoet178

I've been hardbooting for 2 years and want to race the '06/'07 season. Who do I call? What do I need to do? How does this system work? I am in colorado and can go anywhere within reasonable time (2-3 hours) of Denver. So who has the programs? What organizations do races for alpine snowboarding? Please point me in the right direction.

mopoet178

As Randy says: USASA. It is your best option and they are very open to amateurs. They even let me represent my country in the USA;) Anyway it did not matter as much as meeting folks and trying how much I could improve when comparing with them on race course. the most fun I seemed to have during regular practice sessions between races.

USASA has regions. Try to find your closest region to compete on their website so, you will not need to travel to some remote locations. Some guys get lucky and can pick region as they may be close. In first season I was racing in two regions... but you can qualify for US Championships only from one - your primary I guess.

...for all the information. I did some more research and figured that training has a fairly hefty price. Is it possible to do races without training/coaching? If so, I think I might want to race (and probably loose) to get the feel for if I want to commit that far.

your closest USASA region would be the Copper mountain one. It's ok to race without a coach. since a lot of ski areas here have public nastar courses you could always run gates there on your own to practice. race camps are also an option, they are usually cheaper than having a coach for the whole season, and it will give you tips and things to work on on your own.

USASA and NASTAR are both good choices. I'm a big fan of the latter and have attended the Nationals the past three years. They return to Steamboat in 2007.

Try 'em both. Once you catch the racing bug, it won't let go of you!