Note to New Members ×

Softest Hardboots? -- help!

Guest Zman

I've been riding plates for over 10 years and every year I ride steeper terrain and more powder. I always enjoyed such terrain on looser setups, but would rather not move to a soft setup.

What are the softest hardboots out there? The old Raichles? Lemans? I'm looking to loosen my setup.

I ride Burton Fire's and Reactors and the softest boot I have tried was the Burton Boiler 3-strap, but it was too painful due to the low cuff. I ride a freeride board with a nice wide waist and medium flex and bombers with the soft (yellow) rubber mat.

thanks for the help

Z

You might find this faq useful. I ride the old Raichle 224s which as I understand it are roughly equivalent to the Lemans. They are quite soft, as a 190 lb guy I don't think I'd want them softer. I don't think of myself as a carver, more an all-mountain rider. I take them everywhere and they work great. Plus if you want them super-soft you have the option to put them into free-flexing mode where they freely flex forward but not back, and into walk mode where they flex in both directions. The shells are soft enough that there is also a fair old bit of lateral flex. So in short I recommend the Lemans. It also has the advantage of coming with the thermoflex liner, which the even softer 413 doesn't have.

See the Booot FAQ at the Bomber store...

http://www.bomberonline.com/store/boots/boot_faq.cfm

... about halfway down.

(Shameless plug follows)

The LeMans are pretty soft too. BTW, if you're a size 25, I have an unused pair of 423's for sale, that's the old name for the LeMans.

If you do go for a pair of 413's, you cabn swap out the single-position forward lean for a 5-position, and get your own thermoflex liners.

I have a pair of 3 buckle Raichle SB123s with the stock tongue. I was told these are very soft for a hardboot. combine them with the bomber RAB when it comes out...?

selling them...size 27. sorry...would have PMd you but cant do it.