Note to New Members ×

Skinning with boots buckled or unbuckled?

For skinning in hardshell boots like Phantom Slipper, Atomic Backland, or similar, do y’all unbuckle the top buckles while skinning or not?

I’ve been experimenting with this on Phantom Slipper HDs while skinning up inbound groomed trails and I’m still undecided. In general, I find it easier to glide forward with top buckle loose. But when terrain is icy or traversing across the fall line I have more control and stability, especially if I need to engaged my edges, with boots buckled up. It may depend on conditions and terrain. 

This is my first year splitboarding and I have no prior AT/skinning experience. I’m curious to hear what others are doing. 

cheers! 

I'm pretty new to splitboarding myself, but have been enjoying getting into the sport. I think I'm pretty much like you on how tight I like to keep the boots on approach. I'm using Atomic Hawx 130 with Phantom Link lever springs.

When walking around I have the boot's link levers in walk mode/unlocked and the top cuff straps really loose with those top straps in the open/tour position. (My situation has me walking in my boots a far bit... why I mention how I have them set up for walking around).

When I click into my split skis to start skinning up I like to tighten the boots straps up quite a bit, but not really tight. I don't leave the top two straps open. I close them, but leave them not too snug. As things get steeper or when more control is required I will snug things up more all around.

Great that you have been getting out and hitting the resort for inbounds experimenting and practice/fitness.